Skip to main menu Skip to main content Skip to footer content



Archiving AIGA Medalists

  • Date
  • Time
  • Led By Kate Long, Rob Saunders
  • Where AIGA Design Conference

The medal of AIGA – the most distinguished in the field of graphic design – is awarded to individuals in recognition of their exceptional achievements, services or other contributions to the field of design and visual communication. AIGA Medalists are well represented in Letterform Archive’s collection, and we’re bringing their work to Minneapolis for the annual AIGA Design Conference.

Exhibition attendees will gain intimate access to original works of Medalists like Paul Rand, Charles and Ray Eames, Paula Scher, Tibor Kalman, Corita Kent, and Chermayeff and Geismar (see full list below). We will also project our notoriously high-fidelity photographs of objects to celebrate this important AIGA tradition of design excellence.

Medalists Represented
  • Sean Adams*
  • Elmer Adler
  • Josef Albers
  • Paola Antonelli
  • Leonard Baskin
  • Saul Bass
  • Herbert Bayer
  • Lester Beall
  • Lucian Bernhard
  • Michael Bierut*
  • Joseph Binder
  • Joseph Blumenthal
  • Will Bradley
  • Alexey Brodovitch
  • Robert Brownjohn
  • Will Burtin
  • David Carson
  • Matthew Carter
  • Ivan Chermayeff and Thomas Geismar*
  • Seymour Chwast
  • Thomas M. Cleland
  • Richard, Jean and Patrick Coyne
  • Richard Danne*
  • Meredith Davis*
  • Lou Dorfsman
  • Emory Douglas
  • William A. Dwiggins
  • Charles and Ray Eames
  • Ed Fella
  • Louise Fili*
  • Colin Forbes
  • Tobias Frere-Jones
  • Steff Geissbühler*
  • Milton Glaser
  • William Golden
  • Frederic W. Goudy
  • Edwin and Robert Grabhorn
  • April Greiman
  • Steven Heller
  • Walter Herdeg
  • Kit Hinrichs
  • Jonathan Hoefler
  • Armin Hofmann
  • Tibor Kalman
  • E. McKnight Kauffer
  • Corita Kent
  • Chip Kidd
  • Alfred A. Knopf
  • Dr. Robert R. Leslie
  • Zuzana Licko and Rudy VanderLans
  • Leo Lionni
  • Herb Lubalin
  • Ellen Lupton*
  • Alvin Lustig
  • Elaine Lustig Cohen
  • George Macy
  • John Maeda
  • P. Scott Makela and Laurie Haycock Makela
  • Dr. Giovanni Mardersteig
  • Herbert Matter
  • Philip Meggs
  • Rebeca Méndez*
  • Stanley Morison
  • Jennifer Morla
  • Paul Rand
  • Bruce Rogers
  • Rudolph Ruzicka
  • Stefan Sagmeister
  • Willem Sandberg
  • Paula Scher*
  • Ben Shahn
  • Nancy Skolos* and Tom Wedell
  • Jack Stauffacher
  • Alex Steinweiss
  • Ladislav Sutnar
  • Bradbury Thompson
  • Jan Tschichold
  • Edward Tufte
  • Rick Valicenti*
  • Michael Vanderbyl*
  • Massimo and Lella Vignelli
  • Wolfgang Weingart
  • Ann Willoughby*
  • Henry Wolf
  • Lance Wyman*
  • Doyald Young

Curated by Rob Saunders with the assistance of Assistant Librarian Kate Long and photography by Collections Associate Camille Brown.
Exhibit design by Mike Haug, Engrafik.
With support from Monotype and Neenah.

What’s next at the Archive?

This past event is part of our legacy website system. Our new events page has upcoming events, as well as past events held after 2022.

See new events